關於原桶威士忌

無論您是有著將名字印在一桶威士忌上的畢生夢想,還是將擁有一桶威士忌視為一個令人興奮的投資機會,我們的市場向所有人開放。從威士忌愛好者到忠實的投資者,我們提供了廣泛的選擇。

關於威士忌,一個簡單而又美麗的事實是,隨著酒桶的熟成,它的複雜性和價值也在增加。擁有一整個酒桶是一種難得的樂趣。您將成為這一獨特事物的保管人。當時機成熟時,您以及您的孩子甚至是您的孫輩都可以享用酒桶中珍貴的威士忌。

無論您是有著將名字印在一桶威士忌上的畢生夢想,還是將擁有一桶威士忌視為一個令人興奮的投資機會,我們的市場向所有人開放。從威士忌愛好者到忠實的投資者,我們提供了廣泛的選擇。

關於威士忌,一個簡單而又美麗的事實是,隨著酒桶的熟成,它的複雜性和價值也在增加。擁有一整個酒桶是一種難得的樂趣。您將成為這一獨特事物的保管人。當時機成熟時,您以及您的孩子甚至是您的孫輩都可以享用酒桶中珍貴的威士忌。

甚麼是原桶威士忌以及 為什麼它很重要?

原桶

蘇格蘭威士忌協會(SWA)是保護蘇格蘭威士忌的管理機構,他們將原桶定義為“不超過700升的橡木桶”。典型最大的橡木桶是“butt”,該桶在大多數情況下被用於雪莉酒的生產。那些呈較深色和風味濃郁的威士忌可能是在其中一個木桶中熟成。

決定威士忌風格的主要因素是它在那個木桶裡陳年。許多專家一致認為,威士忌的特色風味有80%來自木桶。在蘇格蘭威士忌中,一個木桶會被多次使用,直到木桶失去了它的大部分味道。事實上,全新的木桶往往不適合長時間的陳年,因為會帶有太多的味道。使用過的木桶有時會經歷一個重新活化的過程,在這個過程中活性木材從非活性木材中釋出,經過烘烤,以備再次使用。 

首次填充桶會從木料中提取出最濃烈的香味。談及“首次填充”,這是指將桶中以前的酒清空後,首次使用該桶來進行蘇格蘭威士忌的陳年。例如雪莉酒,波特酒或波本威士忌。 

原桶強度

在裝瓶之前,大多數威士忌都會加水稀釋,將酒精度降至 40% 或 43% 的標準水平。這有助於保持一致性,增加威士忌量,並且較低的酒精度相對上較平易近人,吸引大眾化的市場。偶爾,威士忌會以原桶的酒精度進行裝瓶,即是“原桶強度”威士忌。每桶的酒精度會因為 “天使的分享 (angel’s share)” 均有不同。每個酒桶都有其特色,並且與木桶有著獨特的聯繫。因此,這也令原桶強度的單桶威士忌受到威士忌迷和收藏家的追捧。對於較年輕的麥芽威士忌,它的酒精度可高達 60%或以上,而年份較高的威士忌大概會降至40%。

許多人建議用少量的水來稀釋威士忌來釋放當中的香氣,令其更貼近個人的口味。只需加入數滴水,你便會感受到口感和香氣的微妙變化。香味分子(尤其是脂肪酸)通常會在物理上與酒精結合。水有助於打破這種聯繫,釋放出更多威士忌中的味道。然而,有某些威士忌的風味是由酒精作主導,加入水或會使味道結構失衡。 加水或是不加水也好, 我們建議您嘗試並尋找自己的喜愛的威士忌風味!

為什麼要投資原桶威士忌?

全球增長

全球增長

在2010年至2018年間,蘇格蘭威士忌的出口量增長了44.5%。在2018年,其世界出口總值從43.6億英鎊增長到了47.1億英鎊。談及蘇格蘭威士忌,其產量仍然無法滿足不斷增長的需求。

有史以來售出的最昂貴的原桶

有史以來售出的最昂貴的原桶

2019年11月,一桶1989年的麥卡倫,前雪莉豬頭桶,在香港拍賣會上以44.1萬英鎊的價格售出,創下了新的世界紀錄。它打破了2018年的紀錄,當時,一桶1987年的麥卡倫在同一個香港拍賣會上以37.5萬英鎊的價格售出!

投資回報率

投資回報率

2019年,稀有威士忌在萊坊奢侈品指數中位居榜首,以584%的10年增長率擊敗了葡萄酒,硬幣和老爺車。

Appreciation guide

Distillery guides

Start typing to find a guide on a distillery that interests you, or pick from the selection below.

About Cask Whisky

Whether you have had a lifelong dream to have your name on a cask of whisky, or you see owning a cask as an exciting investment opportunity, our marketplace is open to everyone. And from the whisky enthusiast to the serious investor, we offer a wide range of options.

The simple and beautiful truth about whisky is that as a cask matures, its complexity and desirability increases. Owning an entire cask is a rare pleasure. You will be the custodian of something unique. And when the time is right, the precious contents of your cask may be enjoyed by you, your children or even your grandchildren.

Whether you have had a lifelong dream to have your name on a cask of whisky, or you see owning a cask as an exciting investment opportunity, our marketplace is open to everyone. And from the whisky enthusiast to the serious investor, we offer a wide range of options.

The simple and beautiful truth about whisky is that as a cask matures, its complexity and desirability increases. Owning an entire cask is a rare pleasure. You will be the custodian of something unique. And when the time is right, the precious contents of your cask may be enjoyed by you, your children or even your grandchildren.

WHAT IS CASK WHISKY AND WHY IS IT IMPORTANT?

A Cask

The Scotch Whisky Association (SWA), the governing body protecting Scotch, defines a cask as ‘an oak barrel not exceeding 700 litres’. The largest typical cask in use is the butt, which in most cases will have been used in the production of sherry. Those familiar, dark-coloured and richly flavoured whiskies are likely to have been matured in one of these casks.

Therefore, the main defining factor in the entire style of a whisky is the cask in which it matures. Many experts agree that as much as 80% of a whisky’s characteristic flavour comes from the wood. With Scotch whisky, a single cask is often used several times before the wood has lost most of its flavour. In fact, fresh casks are often unsuitable for a long maturation as too much flavour can be imparted. Used casks sometimes go through a rejuvenation process. In such process the active wood is separated from the inactive and toasted, ready to be used again. 

First-fill casks extract the strongest flavours from the wood. When speaking of a “first fill”, this refers to the first time it’s used to age Scotch whisky after being emptied of its previous liquid. Such as Sherry, Port or Bourbon. 

Cask Strength

Before bottling, most whiskies are brought down to a standard percentage of alcohol (most commonly 40 or 43%). This is done by adding water to the spirit. This helps to maintain consistency, increases the amount of whisky and the lower strength appeals to a wider market. Very occasionally, whisky is bottled at the ABV at which it is drawn from the cask: this is ‘cask strength’ whisky. The strength varies from cask to cask, being affected by the ‘angel’s share’. Each single cask has its own individual character and unique relationship with the wood it has matured in. And therefore makes cask-strength single-cask whisky highly desirable to enthusiasts and collectors. The ABV can be in the high 60s for younger malts, whereas older whiskies may soften down to the low 40s.

Many people recommend a little water to dilute their whisky to suit their personal taste. By carefully adding a couple of drops, you will notice subtle changes to the texture and flavour. The flavour molecules (especially fatty acids) are often physically bound to the alcohol. Water helps to break down this bond and release a more intense flavour. However, with a few whiskies the flavour is strongly supported by the alcohol, and the addition of water can make the flavour structure collapse. There is no right or wrong – we recommend you experiment and find your own personal preference!

Why invest in cask whisky?

Global growth

Global growth

Between 2010 and 2017, exports of Scotch Whisky increased by 44.5% and, in 2017, the export value rose from £1.02bn to £1.17bn. When it comes to Scotch Whisky, production is still not able to meet the ever-growing demand.

Most expensive cask ever sold

Most expensive cask ever sold

In 2018, a cask of Macallan 1987 sold at Auction in Hong Kong for $375,000 US dollars.

Return on investment

Return on investment

In 2019, rare whisky topped the Frank Knight Luxury Investment Index, beating wine, coins and classic cars to first place with the 10-year growth of whisky at 584%.

Appreciation guide

Distillery guides

Start typing to find a guide on a distillery that interests you, or pick from the selection below.