管理原桶威士忌

目前有2,000萬桶「液體黃金」正在蘇格蘭的保稅倉庫中熟成。其中,有90%的珍貴成分在前波本威士忌原桶中熟成,另外有10%在雪莉酒、波特酒和其他葡萄酒桶中熟成。

目前有2,000萬桶「液體黃金」正在蘇格蘭的保稅倉庫中熟成。其中,有90%的珍貴成分在前波本威士忌原桶中熟成,另外有10%在雪莉酒、波特酒和其他葡萄酒桶中熟成。

一切都始於陳年的威士忌原桶

對於蘇格蘭威士忌來說,酒桶的前身是很重要的。這與波本威士忌形成了鮮明的對比,波本威士忌只能使用全新的橡木桶。然而,傳統上蘇格蘭威士忌比波本威士忌熟成的時間要長得多。全新的橡木桶會蓋過許多微妙的風味。 90%的蘇格蘭威士忌酒桶都是使用前波本威士忌酒桶,而西班牙雪莉酒桶則是最受歡迎的原桶之一。一部分先前的裝桶酒液的風味會被吸收到木材中,這會為威士忌帶來獨特的口味。

這些用來裝威士忌的酒桶經常被特意重新燒製,桶的內壁基本上被燒焦,以便留下一層薄薄的木炭。這樣做的目的是重新喚醒木材內的天然糖,它為威士忌酒注入新的生命。

一旦裝上新蒸餾的烈酒,威士忌酒桶必須在蘇格蘭土地上熟成至少三年,才能被稱為蘇格蘭威士忌。我們所說的熟成,本質上是酒體與酒桶木材的一種延伸的交互作用。隨著溫度的變化,酒液在橡木的內部表面來回地滲入和滲出。這樣一來,內壁的木炭以及以前沉浸在木頭中的成分,會慢慢地使烈酒著色,並改變其風味。當威士忌達到濃郁的琥珀色時,它將呈現出顯著的風味和微妙的複雜性。

原桶儲存

所有的威士忌酒桶都必須存放在英國稅務海關總署監管的保稅倉庫中。一些蒸餾酒廠會在酒廠儲存自己的酒桶,但大多數主流的蒸餾酒廠都使用相同的倉庫。每個酒桶在灌裝日期上都有一個編號,在其整個生命週期內保持不變。作為儲存過程的一部分,每個酒桶都有一個獨特的文書記錄,稱為提貨單,一直伴隨著酒桶的一生。

參觀和取樣

偶爾您也可以參觀您正在熟成中的酒桶,這是一次絕妙的體驗。然而,有些倉庫不允許參觀者進入,因為它們可能正儲存成千上萬的酒桶。如果您迫切希望查看您的酒桶,我們很樂意將其運送到更合適的位置。- 這非常簡單,我們將為此支付費用。

從酒桶中取樣威士忌同樣令人興奮。您可以在Cask Trade進行申請。由於從保稅倉庫中提取熟成的威士忌的複雜性,以及從酒桶中取樣的困難度,這裡會涉及一些成本。因此,您需要根據ABV交付一定的稅費。

裝瓶

您的酒桶將被安全地儲存並熟成。無論何時,您都可以將酒桶裝瓶,盡情享用酒桶中的威士忌,單個酒桶通常可以分裝數百瓶。

Find out more

Cask Management

There are currently 20 million casks of liquid gold currently maturing in Scottish bonded warehouses. 90% of the precious contents are ageing in ex-bourbon casks, with the other 10% maturing in sherry, port and other wine barrels.

There are currently 20 million casks of liquid gold currently maturing in Scottish bonded warehouses. 90% of the precious contents are ageing in ex-bourbon casks, with the other 10% maturing in sherry, port and other wine barrels.

WHY USE AGED CASKS?

With Scotch whisky, it is important that the cask has had a previous life. This is in stark contrast to Bourbon Whiskey, in which only new, or ‘virgin’ oak casks may be used. However, Scotch is traditionally matured for much longer than bourbon. And a virgin oak cask would overpower many of the more subtle flavours. 90% of Scotch Whisky casks are ex-bourbon casks, where the sweet bourbon whisky has soften the wood. And the Spanish sherry butts are among the most desirable. A proportion of the previous contents of a cask will have been absorbed into the wood. Which would season it with its own unique flavour.

Casks are often re-charred. The inside of the cask is essentially set on fire, leaving a thin layer of charcoal. This is done for the purpose of re-activating the natural sugars, within the wood which gives it a new lease of life.

Once filled with new make spirit, whisky casks must age for a minimum of three years on Scottish soil before they can be called Scotch. Maturation is essentially an extended interaction with the wood of the cask. As temperatures fluctuate the spirit is drawn in and out of the inside surface of the oak. This, the charring, and the previous contents slowly colour and flavour the spirit. By the time the whisky reaches a rich amber colour, it takes on significant flavour and complexity.

CASK STORAGE

All whisky casks must be stored in HMRC regulated bonded warehouses. Some distillers store their own casks on-site, but most of the industry-leading distillers use the same warehouses. Each cask is assigned a number on the date of fill. This remains the same throughout the cask’s lifetime. As part of the storage process, each cask has a unique paper trail known as a delivery order. This also follows the cask through its lifetime.

VISITING & SAMPLING

It’s sometimes possible to visit your maturing cask, and it’s a fantastic experience. However, some warehouses are not set up to allow visitors. They may contain literally hundreds of thousands of casks. If visiting your cask is a priority, we are more than happy to move it to a more suitable location. – It’s fairly straightforward, and we will simply pass on the fee for this.

It’s equally exciting to sample the whisky from your cask. And you can request these through Cask Trade. Due to the intricate nature of extracting maturing whisky from bonded warehouses, and the difficulty of accessing the casks, there is a cost involved. And therefore duty will be charged based on the ABV.

Bottling

Your cask will be safely stored and matured for you. Whenever you want, you can bottle the cask and enjoy your very own single cask release, often consisting of a few hundred bottles.

Find out more